A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Quick Hits of the Week

  • LaRae Quy guests posts over at Michael Hyatt’s blog, sharing about spies and three ways to find the truth about life’s meaning. Her first point, about life assessment, is a great one that I’ve seen before.  It’s important to identify the areas of our lives where we’ve settled, and recognize that any area that we’re not completely satisfied with isn’t good enough. Her third point, about keeping a journal is also good. It’s part of the reason why I’m forcing myself to write here once a week.
  • Boredom is good for you. It’s a signal that you’re fighting to create. Mark McGuinness reminds us that facing our boredom head on is better than seeking out distractions.
  • I would love to say I’m above politics, but I’m not. There’s always a temptation to get controversial when I write here, because drumming out one of those posts is comparatively easy, and it tends to get more attention. That’s not what I’m trying to do here, though. I’m seeking growth, not division. Thom Rainer shared some really good thoughts regarding this, listing five reasons he avoids negative and controversial posts. I think number four is especially true. So, while I like the added attention, on balance I’d rather stay positive.
  • I’m not a big survivalist. I don’t even like hiking. Driving out among the pine trees and setting up a tent next to a campfire is about at close to “roughing it” as I like to get. The chances of me getting trapped in the wilderness are pretty slim. Should it happen, though, and my cell phone is damaged beyond repair, it’s good to know that I can use what remains as a signal mirror, compass, spear point, and fire starter.
June 21, 2012 - Posted by | Quick Hits and Links | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

