A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Quick Hits of the Week

  • The shooting at the Dark Knight Rises premiere happened almost two weeks ago, but I wanted to share one of the stories that I read about that really impressed me. Pierce O’Farrill was shot three times in Aurora, once with each of the shooter’s guns. He was interviewed by a local radio host just three days after the incident, and he had the following things to say: First, he forgives the shooter, and wants to talk to him. Second, he doesn’t think that the shooter should be given the death penalty. Finally, he’s still a staunch proponent of Second Amendment rights, despite what happened to him. Talk about sticking to your values under extreme pressure. Well done, Mr. O’Farrill. I hope more people remember your name than the sociopath who hurt you.
  • You may have noticed, if you’ve gone back through the archives, that a lot of the images I had used previously have been removed. I’ve only kept the pictures I’ve taken personally, or covers of books I’ve reviewed. I liked the other images I’d chosen, but in all honesty I didn’t do a good job of making sure that they were legally alright to use. Recently, that lack of care bit a blogger in the butt big time, and I don’t think it’s responsible of me to risk putting my family in a similar predicament if all six of you start sharing this blog and it becomes wildly popular. I’m already replacing the images removed with equally good works from the public domain or licensed free through Creative Commons, so the loss is only temporary. I would like to say something to the artists and photographers out there, though. Protecting your product doesn’t make you wealthy, growing a dedicated group of supportive followers does. Be careful which you are spending the bulk of your time on.
  • Have you ever looked at your iPhone and said, “Man, I wish I could attach Legos to this thing. That would be so cool!” Well, that day has finally come. Go get yourself a TinkerBrick case. It makes me want to get an iPhone.

Is there something valuable or important or cool or funny or weird or awesome out there I missed this week? I can’t hit it all, but you should let me know about it by dropping me a line or sharing it in the comments below! I’d appreciate the heads up.

August 2, 2012 - Posted by | Quick Hits and Links | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

