A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Bonus Quick Hits

There were so many things in my Hit File this week, that it couldn’t all fit in just one post. Lucky you!

  • Christians and Churches are known in America for their controversies. I guess that’s fair. Jesus was pretty controversial in his own way. However, Jesus also sought out the lost and welcomed the masses. Over at Stuff Christians Like, Jon Acuff  shows us how one church has put their most welcoming foot forward, and dares us all to follow suit. If that church is as open as their bulletin claims, they must be overwhelmed with opportunities to serve their community. (Side Note: I was given a couple of Acuff’s books while I was in Nashville last week. I’m really looking forward to reading them.)
  • Should it bother me that Cracked has become a go to site for great lists like this one? Seriously, go read it. You really do need to know why drug-sniffing dogs are inaccurate, or how red light cameras can cause fatal accidents. Police officials and bureaucrats tell us that these tactics are good, and help stop crime. Kind of like how banks tell us that debt is a tool and allow us to have what we want right now. The truth is that banks are in the business of selling debt…and what is the next question you should be asking?
  • Tucson is one of the most bicycle friendly cities in the country. We have the El Tour de Tucson every November. Bike lanes everywhere. Even so, there is still a risk when you’re riding around the city. Especially at night. A couple of bike lights just aren’t going to cut it. Here’s a project that should make you safer: DIY LED Handlebars. I’m not suggesting that anyone in particular is needing to do this, mind you, but it might be worth considering if you’re planning to move from Tucson to someplace like California. Just a thought.

Is there something valuable or important or cool or funny or weird or awesome out there I missed this week? I can’t hit it all, but you should let me know about it by dropping me a line or sharing it in the comments below! I’d appreciate the heads up.

August 3, 2012 - Posted by | Quick Hits and Links | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

