A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Quick Hits of the Week

  • Is it OK to settle a debt for less than the amount owed? It’s legal to do it, and thanks to the recent recession a large number of people have learned how to game the system. Usually payments are stopped, and the credit score is sacrificed, to gain some negotiating power with the lender. Still, even though it’s legal and happens frequently, is it ethical? Is it something that followers of Jesus should be doing? As a finance coach, and a Christian, I never advise anyone who comes to me to not pay on a debt if they can afford to pay and still keep themselves healthy, safe, and productive. Honor your agreements, but feed your family first.
  • It’s been a while since I’ve mentioned the TSA, but a couple of juxtaposing posts by author Christopher Elliott made me want to bring them up again. First, he suggests that there are five things you should never say to a TSA agent. Then, after a bit of backlash from that post, he suggests that there are five instances that you should stand up to the TSA. I think the main thing Elliott is trying to point out is that attitude makes a lot of difference when dealing with these situations. I agree with that. My recent trip to Nashville required me to fly, and I got the chance to experience the new nude image scan devices. No, I didn’t opt out. Yes, I did ask for a souvenir print of the image. No, the agents didn’t respond to my request.
  • A Florida Sheriff’s Deputy claims he could smell marijuana in a car traveling 35 mph and with the windows up. They should consider drafting him into the Justice League. What happened after he used his super sniffer was described as “going a little too far” by the Deputy’s supervisor, but it makes me glad I don’t live in Florida, and it’s the kind of thing that makes me worry about our future.

Is there something valuable or important or cool or funny or weird or awesome out there I missed this week? I can’t hit it all, but you should let me know about it by dropping me a line or sharing it in the comments below! I’d appreciate the heads up.

August 30, 2012 - Posted by | Quick Hits and Links | , , , , , ,

1 Comment

  1. [...] August I hit a story about Deputy Dominic Fornal and his incredible sense of smell. Fornal was reportedly able to discern that a car contained marijuana while it was traveling 35 mph [...]

    Pingback by Quick Hits: Bankrupt athletes. Deputy behaving badly, part two. White House monsters. « A Bodey in Motion | March 22, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

