A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Quick Hits of the Week

  • As a man who is now fascinated by personal finances, I’m always interested in hearing stories about herculean home cost-cutting. I thought my wife was doing a great job by keeping our grocery budget under $500 a month (including toiletries), but then I read Lydia Beiler’s savings tips that keeps her families groceries under $200 a month. Holy crap. I still think we do a great job, but obviously there’s room for improvement.
  • Joseph Sangl recently asked his readers what they would teach their children about money in 10 minutes or less. He had a huge response, and here he posts ten of his favorites. I’ll confess that one of those ten came from me. Can you guess which one?
  • Man, this was a rough post to read, but what a reminder. We’re responsible for raising and guiding our children, but they’re just on loan to us. They can be gone in a flash, and there could be nothing we can do to stop it. What will we teach them? I want my children to grow up to be adventurers on this rock hurtling through space, and not to live in fear of it. What about your kids?
  • It appears that Hostess is going to go bankrupt, and there doesn’t seem to be any stopping it. Funny how I remember it being an industry leader in my childhood. Those cheesy one page ads in the back of my comic books just got a lot more dated. So, given my post earlier this week, what caused this giant to fall? Scott Shackford offers up five four plausible answers, and one entertaining bit of lunacy. I think it was mainly number three, myself, but numbers one and two are making strong cases for themselves these days.

Is there something valuable or important or cool or funny or weird or awesome out there I missed this week? I can’t hit it all, but you should let me know about it by dropping me a line or sharing it in the comments below! I’d appreciate the heads up.

November 29, 2012 - Posted by | Quick Hits and Links | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. [...] top Quick Hits post of the year was made on November 29. The least viewed Quick Hits post was posted on January [...]

    Pingback by Top Posts – 2012 Wrap-up « A Bodey in Motion | January 9, 2013

  2. [...] I’ve said before, I’m always impressed by people who can keep their grocery budget down far beyond what seems [...]

    Pingback by Quick Hits: College degrees are overvalued. Eating healthy on $200. The ring for men. « A Bodey in Motion | April 16, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

