A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Intermission

Halfway through the 30 Day challenge, and I’ve been sick for three days. My throat is still sore and I’m feeling a bit worn out. I plan on taking a trip to see some kind of physician tomorrow to make sure I don’t have something serious, and maybe to get some drugs to feel better.

No, not those kind of drugs. I don’t do those kinds of drugs.

However, since we’re on the subject, I’ll take this opportunity to reveal something about myself. I support the decriminalization of all recreational drugs, especially marijuana. As a believer in limited government, and, more importantly, as a Christian I feel there is no other position I can take. I understand that’s a somewhat radical stance to just toss out and not offer any additional explanation, but that’s what I’m going to do. For now.

What I will do is offer up this video of Judge Jim Gray. Like me, he once was a firm believer in the War on Drugs, and has since come to see the policy as failed. I hope you find his presentation at the very least thought-provoking.

Congratulations to Arizona for passing Proposition 203. California, better luck in 2012.

November 14, 2010 - Posted by | Past and Future, Politics and Other Insects | , , , , , ,

6 Comments

  1. I’m interested to hear how being a Christian leaves you with no other position than to support the decriminalization of all recreational drugs and especially marijuana.

    Comment by Cody | November 14, 2010

    • I’m glad you’re interested. That’s cool. Maybe I’ll get to it before the 30 Day challenge is up.

      Comment by Jonathan Bodey | November 14, 2010

  2. Hey Bodey — CA already passed (some years ago) a medical marijuana law. This year’s prop was recreational. Unfortunately, I didn’t think it was very well written, it left a lot of important issues undecided/unregulated (ie how to determine if you are under the influence when driving). Though I am not a user, I am for it though, once it is properly written.

    Comment by Sam | November 15, 2010

    • Sam, I’m aware that CA has had medical marijuana for many years, and all the federal raids that have gone along with it. Despite all of it’s warts, I still would have voted for Prop 19. It was better than the status quo. I hope that the authors take the feedback they’ve received and draft a more widely acceptable version for the next election cycle.

      Comment by Jonathan Bodey | November 15, 2010

  3. I’m with Cody about wanting to read your position a a Christian. I hope you find the time to expand your position in blog before the end of your 30 day challenge. Thanks for sticking in there Bodey, your almost done.

    Comment by Wayne | November 15, 2010

  4. […] Intermission (11/14) […]

    Pingback by Wrap It Up « A Bodey in Motion | December 1, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

