A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Raw Evil?

I’ve had a long day, and I’ve been processing a lot of stuff that I’m not in a position to share at this point in my life, so I’m going to drop something out here without a whole lot of preparation. If you don’t like it or find it lacking in some way, please accept my sincerest apologies and a full refund.

I’m a big fan of the work of the Reason Foundation, which includes the videos produced by Reason.tv like the one below.

Now, I am not a raw food advocate. I don’t agree with the claims made by some of the people in the video about the value of eating solely raw foods. I like my steak cooked medium, my eggs scrambled a little runny, my milk to be pasteurized and homogenized, and generally all of the other pleasures of living in a modern, first-world country when it comes to what I eat.

Ok, I love sushi. Albacore is some tasty stuff. Other than that, cook it.

Given that, why did this video catch my attention? I mean, the police officers storming the raw food club with flak vests and pistols drawn is pretty choice. The staff could jump out and force-feed them raw cheese, I guess. Other than that, though, why should I care?

Well, see, apparently I’m a criminal. I admit it now before God and to all the Interwebs. There’s a container of raw goat milk in my fridge.

It’s true.

Our youngest child is especially on the itty-bitty side. Our pediatrician was concerned that her lack of significant weight gain was a sign of some greater problem. If she had been showing any developmental problems, or wasn’t otherwise acting like a happy, normal kid, we might have agreed with him more readily, but that wasn’t the case. Still, we didn’t want to look like uncaring parents, so we initiated Operation Butterball and set to the task of fattening the little turkey up.

Problem 1: Apparently, Miss Wiggle-Butt has a hellacious metabolism. All the stuff that makes me weigh 3lbs more the next day just burns right off of her. (She loves her some bacon, though. She’s Daddy’s cute little carnivore, yes she is!)

Problem 2: Milk-fat doesn’t agree with the kid. She loves drinking it, but the end result doesn’t love anyone. Those are some serious calories to go without, though. We needed to find a solution.

Thus, the raw goat milk. It seems that goat milk lacks some protein that is very present in cow milk, and it’s easier to digest. She can drink it without fear of reprisal. Weight was gained, doctor was appeased, and raw goat milk has been a staple in our fridge ever since. We’ll probably phase it out as she gets older.

Until tonight I’d never even tried it. I had no interest. After watching the video above, I went ahead and downed some to see what all the fuss was about. It tastes decidedly milk-like, and I wouldn’t have a problem drinking it again. I don’t seem to have suffered any ill effects, either.

Very few people do, it seems. It’s tough to get data without an agenda attached to it, but according to a summary from RealRawMilkFacts.com (which appears to be straight up about recording facts about raw milk consumption, pro or con, although they do make a big deal about the cons) only about 98 illnesses have been reported thus far this year through August. You have a higher chance of sustaining an injury in a car accident on the way to buy the raw milk than you do of catching a food borne illness from the milk.

I’m not saying you should run out and score yourself some choice goat milk tomorrow. No one should force you to take that risk. You shouldn’t even try it if you don’t want to. That would be wrong. Of course, having said that, I have to follow that up:

If you shouldn’t be forced to drink raw goat milk, why should the people in the video be forced not to drink it? Why should farmers be forced to not produce it for them? What harm are they doing to others that causes a need to intervene? What do you think?

November 21, 2010 - Posted by | Food and Booze, Marriage and Family | , , , , ,

1 Comment

  1. […] Raw Evil? (11/21) […]

    Pingback by Wrap It Up « A Bodey in Motion | December 1, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

