A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Wrap It Up

[image removed]

…and done. As soon as I publish this post, I will have succeeded in posting 30 Blogs in 30 Days. One post for every day in November, including Thanksgiving. It’s a small victory, but I’ll take it.

This has been an fun experience. The challenge part of it could definitely be felt at points, especially the mornings I woke up with no idea what I would be writing that day. A few surprise posts came out of that. Let’s review.

Here’s the Top Ten Posts from the last 29 days:

And, in the interest of fairness, here’s the Bottom Five:

It has been interesting to see which posts have taken off and which have been mostly ignored. I don’t want to go into boring details, but I confess to being puzzled by some of it. I don’t have any more of a good feeling what I should focus on now than I did when I started. I just know I can whip out posts more regularly. That’s a good thing, because it got me moving. I was just hoping for some external indicator of the direction I should be going in, but I suppose that would have been too easy.

(I will say this, though. Everyone who hasn’t read my Turkey Day post needs to go read it. Seriously. It’s a review of my most favorite food humor book/website ever. The fact that it’s on the bottom of the list is a [expletive][redacted] tragedy. I’m actually a little hurt over it.)

I’ve started to plan out what the next few steps are going to be. I’ve got one more post in me that just came up, and I want to get it out before the end of the week. I’ll also be posting some links on Friday, because, if nothing else, the misery I discover on the web must be shared. Other than that, you aren’t going to hear from me for a few days. I need a break.

More long term, I have a couple of goals. I want to elaborate on my position from the Intermission post, because there has been some interest in me doing so. I will definitely finish going through Thou Shall Prosper chapter by chapter, because I’ve enjoyed doing that. There will also be a few more book reviews coming. Finally, starting next weekend, I’m going to turn the Wednesday Sketch Blog into the Saturday Sketch Blog, because I think that will work better with my schedule.

Beyond that, I’m not sure. I’m thinking about exploring the fascination we have with removing day to day risk from our lives, no matter what the cost (that’s partly driven by the latest TSA actions, but not entirely). I’m contemplating whether I could write and draw a webcomic of my own. Then there’s all the personal finance stuff I am continuing to devour and work through, and how that’s affecting my life.

So, those of you have been around for the past few weeks, what do you think? What have I done well? What would you like to see more of? Where could I do better?

No matter what you think, thanks for reading. I sincerely appreciate the time of yours that I’ve received.

December 1, 2010 - Posted by | Past and Future | , , , ,

6 Comments

  1. What I read of your blog has more to do with random luck and immediate availability of time, than anything else. I see a link on Facebook, *IF* I see it, I may click on it — depending on what/when I have to do next. … often it may not even show up on my FB wall (I get to over the 300+ post/day very quickly and *every* day, probably multiple times/day.

    I’ve enjoyed the Thou Shalt Prosper info & requested the book from the library (to be delivered to my local branch soon — ©2002, not the ©2010 edition).

    Comment by Sam Jordan | December 1, 2010

  2. Oh, and just cause I read/like something … does not mean I have the time/interest to post a reply. (…and besides that, I am often a lurker).

    Comment by Sam Jordan | December 1, 2010

  3. Thanks for commenting, Sam, and I understand that. I can’t click every link, and I often prefer to just lurk as well. I don’t mean for this to be taken as a whine-fest, and I’m sorry if I gave that impression. It’s really just me being introspective about the last 30 days. Everything I posted about was something I found interesting and thought would be fun to share. Yet, it all feels kind of random to me. If my long term goal was a personal blog, then mission accomplished, but I think I need to work towards something more focused in the coming months.

    Comment by Jonathan Bodey | December 1, 2010

  4. Not at all (whiny). I was just trying to point out that there is little (if any) relation between “top posts” vs. “bottom posts” in terms of quality or substance.

    Those posts just happen to be ‘the one’ that showed up in a feed, someone happened to open, got looked at/commented on that day. And then if one person posts, another responds to it … the first person is likely to post an additional response or more.

    Comment by Sam | December 1, 2010

  5. Jonathan, I have to agree with your friend Sam. I clicked on your blog page when I saw a link. I also think that building an audience is a slow process. As you build content more and more people will find you. I also think that you are very good writer and should consider continuing. While a daily blog may be difficult to do, I think you should consider writing at least once a week if not more often. I recommend this for two reasons because you write well & have something to say and because you are looking for clarity. As you write and respond to what is going on around you, you may find clarity. If you are looking for a wider audience for some of your posts you might consider submitting to a large group of bloggers like Huffington Post (they have a wide range of topics and perspectives despite their label) or maybe New Evangelical Partnership for the Common Good (although this group maybe more political than you want to be). There are others but these come off the top of my head. I also think that you should post your book reviews on Amazon. I have really enjoyed your posts– and not because you are my sister’s husband. You write better than many people who have a wide following and you seemed to have alot to say. 🙂

    Comment by Julia | December 2, 2010

  6. […] I meant to write this shortly after the 30 Day challenge was over, while the comic was still pretty fresh. As I’ve written in a previous post, Randy […]

    Pingback by From a Puppet to Pieces of Wood « A Bodey in Motion | December 20, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

