A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Links of the Week, Christmas Eve Edition

[image removed]

Welcome to another episode of “What Jonathan has come across on the Interwebs that he finds interesting, entertaining, inspiring, or just plain weird.” I’ve got quite a few things saved up from the last couple of weeks, so this is going to be a bit on the long side. Enjoy!

  • “It’s easy to be homophobic if you don’t know anyone who is openly gay.” Steve Chapman tells the story of how he grew out of his own homophobia. I suspect this is fairly common, I know it’s true of my experiences. See, it’s hard to continue vilifying that broadly labeled group when you meet individual members of the group that don’t fit the evil in your head. Maybe it would just be better if we dealt with each other as individuals to start with?
  • Monet Parham, single mother of two, is suing McDonald’s to stop them from using of toys to market directly to young children. The money quote: “I object to the fact that McDonald’s is getting into my kids’ heads without my permission and actually changing what my kids want to eat.” They also take control of her vehicle, her pocketbook, and her ability to say ‘no’ to her children, I suppose. Parenting is hard enough without abdicating responsibility to marketers.
  • How secure is your password? If it’s less than 10 characters and doesn’t include capital letters, a few numbers and a special character or two, it probably isn’t that secure. A recent hack at Gawker reveals that people make some stupid decisions when creating their passwords. Try to be more creative with yours.
  • It may seem strange to associate the behaviors and traits of leaders with those used to describe love, but I find Perry Noble’s gut check list compelling. These are good things to be working through in general, but especially if you are in a position of leadership.
  • I believe that one of the results of this Communication Revolution we have been living in, and the Information Age that it has spawned, is the total revamping of education and schooling as we know it. If you’re interested, let me suggest a couple of videos to you. Education scientist Sugata Mitra’s child-driven education talk at TED from July of this year is fascinating. There’s also an animated version of a talk presented by Sir Ken Robinson, world-renowned education and creativity expert, on changing education paradigms. Both are challenging discussions and completely worth watching.
  • A message from last year that I think is very appropriate this Christmas. There are a lot of reasons to not like Christians. Shane Claiborne asks you to please forgive us, because God is not a monster and Jesus is worth getting to know better.
  • Presenting the all new taste sensation, coming to the snack aisle at your local food mega-mart: Haggis Chips! No, really.
  • This is a very long interview with Matt Ridley discussing five books that he believes are well worth reading. Some of these will probably go on my reading list. Ridley is very adept at making the case for an optimistic view of the future, and I am happy to be persuaded by him. I hope you take the time to read what he has to say.
  • This past week, pigs grew wings and began to take flight. Pat Robertson and I can agree, in part, about US drug policy. He stated, on the 700 Club, that “criminalizing marijuana [is] costing us a fortune and it’s ruining young people.” I couldn’t agree more. (There has been some understandable back-pedaling from the organization, but let me have my moment of joy, won’t you?)

That’s should be enough for now. Everyone have a Merry Christmas!

December 24, 2010 - Posted by | Food and Booze, Marriage and Family, Quick Hits and Links | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. Hey Jonathan, Can’t believe that Pat Robertson and I agree also… Amazing. Hope you had a wonderful, joyful Christmas. Julie

    Comment by jlepfaff | December 25, 2010

    • This may sound strange, but I’m hoping it’s not a trend. If Robertson started approaching his Christian walk with a sudden upswing of mercy and humility, I would wonder if the secret masters had replaced with him a clone.

      Merry Christmas to you and your family, Julie.

      Comment by Jonathan Bodey | December 25, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

