A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Quick Hits of the Week

  • A homemaker’s work is worth a lot of money to the family. They need life insurance. How much? More than you would think. Several articles and studies have tried to pin down a hard number for the goods and services provided, ranging from as low as $30,000 up to almost $500,000 a year. Maybe it’s $96,291, but probably not. There’s a good reason why they have trouble agreeing. The value of any good or service cannot be measured objectively. It varies from person to person, and from family to family. I’m not sure what my wife is worth in the marketplace in the field she studied, or the skills she has mastered as a homeschooling homemaker, but I can say that she’s worth a fortune to me. So, she is well insured.
  • So, I’ve heard a lot of complaints that places like India are graduating so many people in technology fields that they’re sure to overwhelm the industry. While I’m of the opinion that global competition is good for all of us, I don’t think we have to worry about India overwhelming us quite yet. Apparently, their education system isn’t quite up to snuff. The money quote? “If you pay peanuts, you get monkeys.”
  • Does a University really need a SWAT team? Really? I do my best to follow Mr. Hardy’s advice from the previous hit, but one of the things that really concern me is the pseudo-militarization of our police. If you’ve got some time and want to learn more, I really can’t recommend Overkill enough. It’s good to be aware of this trend, even if you can’t do much to control it.
  • A recent addition to my Bucket List: Become a tenth as cool as Bruce Campbell. I’m not really sure how to accomplish this, yet. I’m not really even sure how you would measure such a thing. Still, I have to try. If you have any ideas where I should start, leave me a comment. Thanks.
February 9, 2012 - Posted by | Quick Hits and Links | , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

