A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Quick Hits of the Week

  • If you haven’t heard about civil asset forfeiture, I’m going to encourage you to get a little better informed about it. Here’s the quick summary: You probably understand that people, when they are detained by the authorities, are presumed innocent until proven guilty. When possessions are seized, it’s just the opposite. The enforcement agencies doing the seizing are often able to sell the property and add some of the proceeds to their funds. Thus, it can create an incentive for the enforcement agency to do things that would result in them being able to seize more property. For example, take this lonely stretch of I-70 in Ohio, where some officers have been apparently making a small fortune by pulling over out-of-state vehicles.
  • Emily loves her glasses, and I love mine, too. I tried contacts once when I was much younger. Due to my vision problems, they could only give me the hard lenses at that time. They sucked. I was lousy at cleaning them. I didn’t like the way they felt. I absolutely hated sticking my finger in my eye. So, even though today I could get soft, disposable lenses, I refuse. There is nothing easier than sitting up, slapping on my glasses, and no more fuss. Besides, glasses are sexy.
  • Somebody pointed me at this very interesting article extolling the virtues of the 40-hour work week. It’s a bit on the long side, but well worth the read. Of course, if you work for a company with good leadership, they’re going to be aware of this already, and push their employees to engage in healthy work habits. The big take away is that if you are in an environment where management is constantly requiring you to up your hours, then they’re incompetent, and you should be looking for another place to work. A couple weeks of overtime every so often can have some benefit, but you can’t do it for long. Besides, wealth isn’t made by the hour. It’s made with ideas and a plan of action.
April 12, 2012 - Posted by | Quick Hits and Links | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

