A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Quick Hits of the Week

  • It’s Summer, which means that our kids have spent a week or two at Vacation Bible School of one type or another. Churches will usually sponsor a VBS as a safe and feel good option for parents to deposit their children while school is out. There’s nothing wrong with it, but I wonder if something more community focused would be better. Over at Lenore Skenazy’s Free-Range Kids, she shares the story about a couple of moms that created a successful camp in the streets and homes of their neighborhood. It’s a great idea, and I hope to see more people (including churches) organize similar events. Also, let me just say, if you’re a pastor to children or young adults, you should be reading and incorporating the ideas introduced at Free-Range Kids. We need to take the fear out of  our parenting.
  • Short-term mission trips have exploded in the US, but that has meant a steep learning curve for the organizations who coordinate them. Dan King covers all of this ground extremely well as he explains why you shouldn’t build a house (or a well) on your next mission trip. The bottom line is that missionaries need to be improving lives in every way, but handouts seldom lead to long term improvement. A well is of no use to their community if no one knows how to fix it when it breaks.



Is there something valuable or important or cool or funny or weird or awesome out there I missed this week? I can’t hit it all, but you should let me know about it by dropping me a line or sharing it in the comments below! I’d appreciate the heads up.

July 5, 2012 - Posted by | Quick Hits and Links | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. did you see the article in AZ Daily Star about the Upcycle house on Mountain Avenue – a house made out of 4 crate/storage containers!

    Comment by amber j | July 8, 2012

    • I did, Amber. I even went to upcycleliving.com and looked over their stuff, which is very cool. I have some thoughts about what they’re doing. I think I’ll hit them this week.

      Comment by Jonathan Bodey | July 8, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

