A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Quick Hits of the Week

  • If you’re employed, what is it exactly that you do? Do you build widgets? Do you sell stuff? How would you describe your everyday work? Now, here’s the important question: How is your everyday work serving people? Dan Rockwell wants us to remember that the only reason we’re in business is to serve. If you can’t immediately see how the work you do serves others, then you need to take some time and figure it out. More importantly, if you can’t figure out how your work serves others, then you need to find work that does.
  • In the last couple of months, we’ve lost Sheriff Taylor,  Lt. Commander McHale, and Corporal Newkirk. That also means that we’ve lost Ben Matlock (Atlanta’s greatest criminal defense attorney), Dominic Santini (co-pilot of human civilization’s crowning achievement), and the most kissy-faced game-show host ever. I don’t like focusing on death, but it’s hard not to take note of the passing of television legends like these.
  • I’m a big fan of individuals creating and innovating. Looking at old materials in new ways, or putting a fresh spin on an old concept. So, it makes sense that the work being done by UpCycle Living would get my attention. Taking shipping-crates and turning them into affordable homes. Providing relief for Haiti. Not to mention, making a splash right in my own city. The engineer in me is busy assembling shipping-crates into different configurations in my head to see what kind of weird but interesting home designs could be created. The burgeoning financial coach in me wants to warn you not to buy one unless you are dead set on making a statement instead of an investment. These are a niche market with the potential resale value of a mobile home. I still liked them on Facebook, though.

Is there something valuable or important or cool or funny or weird or awesome out there I missed this week? I can’t hit it all, but you should let me know about it by dropping me a line or sharing it in the comments below! I’d appreciate the heads up.

July 12, 2012 - Posted by | Quick Hits and Links | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment

  1. […] love it when someone does something amazingly artistic in a new way.  Like turning shipping crates into homes. Or last week’s crayon carvings. So, when I find something that makes me go […]

    Pingback by Quick Hits: Saving money online. Doing more with less is stupid. Laser cut paper sculptures. « A Bodey in Motion | April 9, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

