A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Nashville is a Groovy Little Town

I’m spending this week away from home, soaking up some of the lovely Tennessee atmosphere and charm.

Before we go any further, though, I’d like everyone to take a moment and say a quick prayer for my family. I don’t like spending so much time away from them. I know they’ll be fine. I also know that they mean the world to me and that prayer works.

So, what’s so important that I’d fly over halfway across the country and separate myself from those that I am so blessed to be loved by?

This guy.

Specifically, I’m going to spend a week going through Dave Ramsey’s Counselor Training. I wanted to become better at helping people who are having money troubles, and the pieces all neatly fell into place for me to attend, so here I am. Based on all of the introductory material, they’re going to cover a lot of information, which means it will be a bit like taking a sip from a fire hose. At least it won’t be boring.

I don’t think there is going to be any sight-seeing this time around. I would love to see more of Nashville, but I need to take the time to rest so I can absorb what I’m here to learn. I’m hoping to briefly see Dave doing his radio show, since I’ll be right there. (No ‘Debt-Free Scream’ for me, though. The house isn’t paid off yet.) I’m sure that we’ll bring the family back to Nashville another time.

I am sure that I’ll have more to share once the week is over, but right now. I need to get a little more rest before the first day of training. A late night flight plus a touch of jet lag is making for a rough morning.

If you could have the answer to one money question, what would it be?

July 24, 2012 - Posted by | Marriage and Family, Past and Future, Work and Money

5 Comments

  1. […] Also, I’ve started to coach and mentor people who are struggling with their finances. People who are searching for a plan and principles to follow. People who are struggling and fighting, learning how to compromise and sacrifice. I even took a trip out to Nashville recently to learn to do it better. […]

    Pingback by The Money Story, Revisited « A Bodey in Motion | August 6, 2012

  2. […] so, on my last trip, that phrase from the title stuck out at me. Make sure you get your mask on and secure before […]

    Pingback by Secure Your Mask First Before Helping Others « A Bodey in Motion | September 10, 2012

  3. […] three more months to go in 2012. Since the last time we did this, I went to Nashville and got trained as a financial coach by some seriously talented people. We started a new round of […]

    Pingback by Top Posts – Third Quarter 2012 « A Bodey in Motion | October 9, 2012

  4. […] Willow Creek Association Global Leadership Summit 2011 – My Review – I didn’t even go to the Willow Creek summit this year. I went to Nashville instead. […]

    Pingback by Top Posts – 2012 Wrap-up « A Bodey in Motion | January 9, 2013

  5. […] received a copy of this book when I was out in Nashville getting trained as a financial coach by Dave Ramsey’s team. (Actually, I received a half-dozen books for free […]

    Pingback by The Legend of the Monk and the Merchant « A Bodey in Motion | March 18, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

