A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Quick Hits of the Week

  • I am not a coffee drinker. I love the smell of it, but you can’t add enough sugar and syrups to it to make me enjoy drinking the stuff. I married a coffee drinker, though, so that works out alright. It also makes me keenly aware what a few trips to Starbucks a month can total up to every year. If coffee is a staple in your house, like it is in mine, you might want to consider taking a few steps to save money on your daily fix.  Good luck with number five, though.
  • The world is going to end. No, really. At some point, this little ball of dust careening through the universe is going to be no more. Despite that, though, I can’t find a good reason to go about in a panic. Why are we always so eager to believe that the world is always on the brink of catastrophe? We’ve become Apocaholics. We’re addicted to the fear of a coming global apocalypse. We need to be more hopeful. Matt Ridley’s recent article about apocalypses warned but never realized is an excellent reality check.
  • I love it when my work is in front of me. All of the details have been worked out, and I can finally start producing a solution. That’s when the fun begins. The problem is, the “fun” part is only a small percentage of the total time I spend doing any task. Seth Godin points out that we need to be finding ways to improve our performance on the “boring” stuff, because it occupies up a bulk of our time.

Is there something valuable or important or cool or funny or weird or awesome out there I missed this week? I can’t hit it all, but you should let me know about it by dropping me a line or sharing it in the comments below! I’d appreciate the heads up.

August 23, 2012 - Posted by | Quick Hits and Links | , , , , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

