A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

My Daily Trawl

I don’t feel like putting out a Quick Hit post tonight, but I wanted to stick to my schedule. There are only have a couple of links in my buffer that I really want to share, so they’re going to wait until I have a few more  (or I’ll post them on Saturday, we’ll see).

Anyway, I’ve been asked a few times how I fill a buffer of “valuable or important or cool or funny or weird or awesome” things that grab my attention to share every week. It’s not that complicated, really. Google Reader is my friend, and really easy to use if you have an account with Google. I use it to skim around thirty blogs every day (that number changes based on activity). Not all of them post every day, but some post several times a day so it evens out.

When I say skim, I mean it. Usually, I read the title and then maybe scan the first paragraph or two to see if I want to go any further. So, out of the fifty or so posts I see every morning or afternoon, I might read twelve to fifteen. And from the sixty to one hundred posts I read every week, I share five to ten. So, not that complicated.

Of course, there are a handful which I don’t skim. I read just about everything they post, and I think you should, too.

  • Seth Godin – Genius man of marketing, with insights that apply to just about everything in the world today. Brilliant with his brevity, saying so much with so few words.
  • Radley Balko – Balko is a tremendous, and award-winning, source of criminal justice and civil liberty investigative journalism. He has been a biweekly columnist with Fox News, a policy analyst for the Cato Institute, a senior editor for Reason magazine, and now is a senior writer for Huffington Post. His work on police militarization is unfortunately unmatched.
  • IKEA Hackers – I’m a confessed IKEA junkie, and the ideas that they come up with on this site range from bizarre to brilliant.

Anyway, I’ll be back to the usual schedule next week. Thanks for indulging me.

December 13, 2012 - Posted by | Quick Hits and Links | , , , , , ,

1 Comment

  1. […] Hyatt’s blog has been a part of my daily trawl for a couple of years. When he started podcasting last year, I hesitated adding him because I was […]

    Pingback by Are You Stuck at Work? « A Bodey in Motion | May 15, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

