A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Quick Hits of the Week

  • Life can be very hard. Right now, many of us can find valid reasons to complain about the world around us and its effect on our lives. The economy is weak. Unemployment is rampant. National leadership is easy to question. Conflicts abound abroad and at home. Fear and depression can easily be the emotions of the moment, moment after moment, day after day, on and on. There’s a problem with that, though. We were made to be better. We’re not supposed to spend our moments complaining out of fear and worry. We have the gifts of hope and vision, and we need to remind ourselves of them, especially when life is very hard.
  • Christmas is a great time of year, because almost everyone thinks just a little bit more about generosity and charity. Here are a couple of opportunities that you might want to take advantage of. First, Jon Acuff wants to help fight poverty by providing goats to the poor through Food for the Hungry. If you’re looking for something a bit more personal, though, I’ve got just the thing. GoFundMe.com is a crowdsourcing site for personal projects and life events. It’s like KickStarter, but for things like weddings, memorial funds, babies, pretty much everything. I’m not endorsing any of the projects on there, but I am encouraging you to go look around and see if you can’t find an opportunity to be generous to someone you don’t know.
  • I’ve been struggling with keeping a steady income with my current job, and developing a new career around financial coaching. I want the latter, but the former pays the bills really well. That’s why Seth Godin nailed me with this post. Whichever of those two is getting my best energy is the one that’s going to flourish. If I say I’m taking the new career seriously, then my time, energy, and focus need to reflect that.

Is there something valuable or important or cool or funny or weird or awesome out there I missed this week? I can’t hit it all, but you should let me know about it by dropping me a line or sharing it in the comments below! I’d appreciate the heads up.

December 27, 2012 - Posted by | Quick Hits and Links | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

