A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Quick Hits: US military spending still huge. The trial of the rainbow igloo. On GM food, a hit not so quick.

  • There are two things I love about this story. When her daughter brought home her boyfriend for the Christmas holiday, this Mom came up with a significant trial to test what could be her future son-in-law. That is brilliant. Even more brilliant was that the trial was to build a rainbow igloo out of colored ice blocks. He succeeded.
  • I’m going to go a little long with this one. Apologies in advance.

I don’t think I can go a day without seeing some genetically modified (GM) food propaganda on facebook these days. It might say something about the kinds of friends I have, but I think it also has a lot to do with how quickly the fear of food science is spreading around the world. And it’s all about fear, and not about education. I know this because most of those who spread the propaganda can’t answer two questions.

First: Who is Norman Borlaug? Most people have never heard of him or his work with genetically modified wheat, and that’s a tragedy. Everyone should know about the work he did.

Second: What does Mark Lynas, who helped to start the anti-GM movement back in the mid 1990s, have to say about it now? Oh, allow me to quote:

“This was the most successful campaign I have ever been involved with. This was also explicitly an anti-science movement.”

“[T]his absolutely was about deep-seated fears of scientific powers being used secretly for unnatural ends.”

“I discovered that one by one my cherished beliefs about GM turned out to be little more than green urban myths.”

Seriously, go read , or watch the lecture, and listen to what one of the founders of the movement is saying about it today. It’s, dare I say, educating and even well-researched.

I’m not going to force you (or even tell you) to eat GM foods. I don’t really have a problem with discretely labeling them as such. I would appreciate the same courtesy in return, though, because it’s none of your business what my family eats. You might say that I’m risking lives by not opposing GM foods, and I say right back at you. You might think that I’m not scared enough about what might happen, but I believe that we are living in an amazing time of history, and were all too busy being scared by empty shadows to really enjoy it.

So, show a little healthy skepticism, folks. The world isn’t out to get you, and science is still pretty beneficial, even when it’s in our food.

May 9, 2013 - Posted by | Quick Hits and Links | , , , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

