A Bodey in Motion

Building momentum, one step at a time

Do the Next Ten

Lately, when it comes to writing, my brain has gotten a bit…muddy.

I’m actually having trouble putting myself in front of the keyboard to write. Some external factors in my life have drastically changed recently, and adjusting has been difficult. I’m not reading as much as I usually do. When I consider writing, nothing I think about writing really inspires me enough to get off my butt and do it. And I’d rather not write something that I’m not going to take at least a little bit of effort to do well, right?

Yeah, it’s all a load of horse crap, and I know it.

No one ever gets talker’s block. No one wakes up in the morning, discovers he has nothing to say, and sits quietly, for days or weeks, until the muse hits, until the moment is right, until all the craziness in his life has died down.

– Seth Godin, The Icarus Deception

It’s easy to make excuses when you’re struggling, but that’s a trap. Everything you want to be will take a regular dose of hustle, even when you don’t think you have it in you. Focus on making the next ten phone calls, knocking on the next ten doors, or writing the next ten words. And then do the next ten. And again. Until you’re done.

June 11, 2013 - Posted by | Past and Future | , , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

